Governance Principles

We are led by a diverse Executive Board that represents the variety of our members' organizations and locations within the state. Our Directors are from small, medium and large innovation hubs in Chicago, suburbs and rural areas; they hail from incubators, accelerators and coworking spaces; and some serve specialized founder demographics. As we attract a group of Ecosystem Affiliate members, they will also be represented on the Executive Board.

In order to insure continuity of our institutional knowledge, Executive Board Director terms of members are staggered with half ending each year, and the association's Executive Director is a permanent Executive Board Director.

To avoid tie votes on the Executive Board, we have an odd number of voting Directors which are initially six Directors from innovation hubs plus the Executive Director. As the Executive Board expands over time, the total will remain an odd number.


Copyright © 2018 by Illinois Business Innovation Association. All rights reserved.

We make every effort to create accurate, up-to-date, leading-edge information but have no liability for anything that doesn't meet that standard.

Carol Abrahamson

Founder & Executive Director

Carol at CarolAbrahamson dot-com


2500 North Annie Glidden Rd, Suite F

DeKalb, IL 60115​​